Chittorgarh Fort
December 2, 2016


Bappa Rawal founded Chittorgarh, one of the oldest cities of Rajasthan, in the mid-8th century AD. Chittorgarh Fort is built over 180 m high rocky hills of the Aravalli Ranges. The fort provides great strategic importance to Chittorgarh. The fort has seven gates, namely, Padan Pol, Bhairon Pol, Hanuman Pol, Ganesh Pol, Jorla Pol, Lakshman Pol and the main gate Ram Pol. The major buildings within the Chittorgarh Fort are the Vijay Stambh (Tower of Victory), Kirti Stambh (Tower of Fame) and Rana Kumbha Palace.



Distance : 372 km, South West of Jaipur

Best Time To Visit : October to March

Seven Gates of the Fort

To enter into the Fort Of Chittorgarh, the person has to go through seven huge gates(Pol). Each gate is different in its name, design, and its size. Below is the list of these gates:

  1. Padan Pol
  2. Bhairon Pol
  3. Hanuman Pol
  4. Jorla Pol
  5. Ganesh Pol
  6. Laxman Pol
  7. Ram Pol

The fort of Chittor is regarded as one of the most outstanding forts of the country and is indeed the “Pride of Rajasthan State”. The formidable fort is perched atop an 180-meter high hillock covering a massive area of 700 acres and is a standing sentinel to the courage and valor of Chittorgarh. It is believed that the fort was built by the Mauryans in the 7th century and further structures were added to it by the successive Mewar rulers.

The one-mile long serpentine road to the fort is quite steep and exhaustive. The fort is approached through seven huge gateways or ´pols´, which are guarded by a watch tower and massive iron spiked doors.

Tower of Victory – (Vijay Stambh)

Built in 1440 AD by Maharana Kumbha to commemorate his victory over Mohamed Khilji this 9-storyed tower is adorned by sculptures of Hindu deities around.

There are around 157 narrow steps leading to the terrace where the balconies give a beautiful top angle view of the whole town. When illuminated in the evening, the tower reflects a mesmerizing effect and the view is worth capturing in the camera.

Tower of Fame – (Kirti Stambh)

Dedicated to Adinathji the 1st Jain Teerthankar adorned by the naked figures of the Digambars [Adherents of the Digambar sect who does not believe in covering the natural body] A narrow stairway goes through seven stories of the tower to the top. The 22 meters high tower was built by a wealthy Jain merchant in the 12th century A.D.

Gaumukh Reservoir

A deep tank filled by a spring coming from a ‘cow mouth’, situated at the edge of the cliff. It is considered to be sacred where you can feed the fishes.

Rana Kumbha Palace

The ruined edifice of great historical and architectural interest, being the most massive monument in the fort of Chittaur. The palace is believed to have underground cellars where Rani Padmini and other women committed Jauhar.

Padmini Palace

The palace, once the scene of an incident directly responsible for the battle between Allauddin Khiliji and Rana Ratan Singh, is a distinctly feminine structure that overlooks a pleasant pool.

Meera Temple (Meera Mandir)

Build by Maharana Kumbha in 1449, this lord Vishnu Temple has beautiful idols in its sanctum, mandap, and pillars. In the same premises, there is a small temple of Lord Krishna.

Kalika Mata Temple (Kalikamata Mandir)

This mother goddess temple was built originally in the 8th century as the Surya or Sun temple and converted to its present form in the 14th century.

Fateh Prakash Palace – (Government Museum)

Build by Maharana Fateh Singh this huge palace is of modern style. This place has been named Fateh Prakash after Maharana Fateh Singh. There is a big Ganesh idol, a fountain, and different frescoes which are to be seen to be believed.

This palace, now a museum, has a rich collection of sculptures from temples and buildings in the Fort.

Jain Temples (Jain Mandir – Sattavish devri)

At present six Jain temples on the fort of Chittor. The largest and chief among them is the temple of Bhagawan Adinatha with fifty-two devkulikas. The place of this temple is known as ‘Sattavish devri’. It means that at some time in the past, there were twenty-seven temples here.

The Digamabar Jain Kirtistambh and seven-storied Kirtistambh are two among them. The seven-storied Kirtistambh was built in the fourteenth century in memories of Bhagawan Adinatha.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *